338– IUTM DEBATE 2019

Minutes of the 338th meeting of Inner Universe Toastmaster Club

‘IUTM DEBATE 2019’ moderated by TM Mohammed Basheer

Minutes by TM Pratibha Tiwari

October 10th 2019

It was the first Debate of year 2019 which was amazingly moderated by TM Basheer. It was opened by President TM Abidul Islam at 7:40 pm.  He said IUTM is first club which is organizing Debate in year 2019. He encouraged the members to participate in activities and grow fully at the great learning platform of Toast Masters.  Then TM Basheer took over the podium to conduct the debate. He explained the rules and regulations. TM Syamlal performed the role of Timer.

There were four teams who participated.

Team A – TM Yashashree, TM Mohammed Aslam, TM Minal Joshi, TM Preetha Narayanan

Team B – TM Mohammed Asif, TM Jayakrishnan, TM Harsha Wagh, TM Deepti Tak

Team C – TM Anita Kangat, TM Shruthi Shetty, TM Pratibha Tiwari, TM Dipak Soni

Team D – TM Ranjit Nair, TM Ramakrishnan, TM Nancy Rosi, TM Sudhir Shetty

First debate was conducted between Team A and Team D. Topic was ‘Climate change is irreversible and we have to live with it.’

Team A spoke in favour of the topic and Team D spoke against the topic.

Team D won the Debate

Second Debate was conducted between Team B and Team C. Topic was ’Parental Support is a must for a child’s success.’

Team B spoke in favour of the topic and Team C spoke against the topic.

Team B won the Debate.

Final Debate was between Team B and Team D. Topic was ‘Artificial Intelligence is a threat to mankind’

Team B spoke against topic and won the debate.

All results were declared by moderator TM Basheer which were taken by respectable judges TM Abidul Islam, TM Shameema, and TM Rajshekhar. President TM Abidul Islam congratulated the winners and participants. He made announcement regarding the winning of ‘Triple Crown’ by TM Shameema and TM Asif. Meeting was declared closed at 9:50 pm and dinner was served.

No of attendees: 24

Next Meeting: 29.10.2019

Congratulations TM Shameema and TM Asif for winning ‘Triple Crown’.

Congratulations to winners and all participants.